• Resilient Cities Webinar - Integrated climate action: Linking adaptation and mitigation
    Resilient Cities Webinar Integrated climate action: Linking adaptation and mitigation
    Hear representatives from Surrey and Bogotá share their experiences!

Free webinar! Integrated climate action: Linking adaptation and mitigation

Wednesday November 19th, 2014

8:00 am PST / 11:00 am EST / 5:00pm CET

 

This webinar covered strategies for integrating climate change adaptation and mitigation actions and explored potential synergies and barriers involved. Measures and solutions for simultaneously reducing greenhouse gas emissions and vulnerability to climate change impacts were presented.

To view the webinar recording, click here

 

Presentations by:

Anna Mathewson and Carrie Baron from the City of Surrey, BC will share the City's approach to integrated climate action. They will provide an overview of Surrey's Community Climate Action Strategy, which identifies synergies between adaptation and mitigation actions, and discuss measures being implemented in community energy, food and agriculture, biodiversity, flood management, and hazard avoidance. 

 Francisco Bocanegra Polania from Bogotá Municipality, Colombia will introduce Bogota's Humana Development Plan (2012-2016) which recognizes the integration of climate change adaptation and mitigation as key priority, and elaborate on the different strategic areas that have been identified.