Also available in: English (Anglais)

CMMC et le projet Villes-vitrines

Les Villes-vitrines de la Convention mondiale des maires pour le climat au Canada

Ville de Nanaimo (C.-B.) Ville de Courtenay (C.-B.)
District d’Ucluelet (C.-B.) Commission de services régionaux Nord-Ouest (N.-B.)
Ville de Moncton (N.-B.) Ville de Fredericton (N.-B.)
Ville de Mount Pearl (T.-N.-L.) Village de New Glasgow (N.-É.)
Ville de Burlington (Ont.) Ville de Hamilton (Ont.)
Ville de Oakville (Ont.) Ville de London (Ont.)
Ville de Brampton (Ont.) Village de Orangeville (Ont.)
Ville d’Ottawa (Ont.) Ville de Kitchener (Ont.)
Ville de Kingston (Ont.) Ville de Windsor (Ont.)
Canton de Huron-Kinloss (Ont.) Ville de Rivière-du-Loup (Qc.)
Ville de Prévost (Qc.) Ville de Laval (Qc.)
Ville de Baie-Saint-Paul (Qc.) Ville de Candiac (Qc.)
Ville de Beaconsfield (Qc.)

 

CMMC et le projet Villes-vitrines

Vingt-cinq municipalités canadiennes ont été choisies pour faire partie de la première cohorte du projet Villes-vitrines dirigé par la Convention mondiale des maires pour le climat et l’énergie (CMMC) au Canada. Au cours de la prochaine année, elles bénéficieront d’un accompagnement intensif pour les aider à réduire leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) et à s’adapter aux changements climatiques.

Les municipalités sont particulièrement concernées par les changements climatiques, et grâce à ce projet pilote qui offre du soutien technique, de la formation, des occasions exclusives de réseautage et un accès à des outils et des ressources, chacune d’entre elles fera progresser ses objectifs ambitieux en matière de lutte contre les changements climatiques.

La Convention mondiale des maires au Canada est une collaboration entre la FCM, l’ICLEI Canada, le secrétariat de la Convention mondiale des maires et le projet Coopération urbaine internationale, appuyé financièrement par l’Union européenne.

L’initiative combine deux grands programmes nationaux pour le climat, Partenaires dans la protection du climat (PPC) et Bâtir des collectivités adaptées et résilientes (BARC), avec le principal programme mondial sur le climat. La CMM au Canada met à l’essai cette approche, qui s’appuie sur plus de 25 années d’expérience de ICLEI et de la FCM dans l’exécution de programmes sur les changements climatiques au Canada.

 

Photos: Architecture buildings city cityscape by Busrt from Pexels; Close up photo of assorted push pins on map by Akonsat Uanthoeng from Pexels; Windmill on grass field during golden hour by Karsten Wurth on Unsplash

Also available in: English (Anglais)

Also available in: Français (French)

GCoM and Showcase Cities Project

List of Global Covenant of Mayors Canada Showcase Cities

City of Nanaimo, BC City of Courtenay, BC
District of Ucluelet, BC Commission de services régionaux Nord-Ouest, NB
City of Moncton, NB City of Fredericton, NB
City of Mount Pearl, NL Town of New Glasgow, NS
City of Burlington, ON City of Hamilton, ON
Town of Oakville, ON City of London, ON
City of Brampton, ON Town of Orangeville, ON
City of Ottawa, ON City of Kitchener, ON
City of Kingston, ON City of Windsor, ON
Township of Huron-Kinloss, ON Ville de Rivière-du-Loup, QC
Ville de Prévost, QC Ville de Laval, QC
Ville de Baie-Saint-Paul, QC Ville de Candiac, QC
Ville de Beaconsfield, QC

Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy (GCoM) and Showcase Cities Project

Twenty-five Canadian municipalities were selected to join the first Showcase Cities cohort led by the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy (GCoM) Canada. Over the next year, these municipalities will receive intensive support to help reduce their greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and adapt to climate change.

Municipalities are on the front lines of climate change, and through this pilot project which includes technical support, training, exclusive networking opportunities and access to tools and resources, each municipality will advance their ambitious climate action objectives. 

The Global Covenant of Mayors Canada is a collaboration between FCM, ICLEI Canada, the Global Covenant of Mayors Secretariat and the International Urban Cooperation Project supported by funding from the European Union.

The initiative combines two leading domestic climate programs, the Partners for Climate Protection (PCP) program and Building Adaptive and Resilient Communities (BARC), with the leading global climate program. The GCoM Canada is piloting this approach, which will build on ICLEI and FCM’s more than 25 years’ experience in delivering climate change programs in Canada.

Photos: Architecture buildings city cityscape by Busrt from Pexels; Close up photo of assorted push pins on map by Akonsat Uanthoeng from Pexels; Windmill on grass field during golden hour by Karsten Wurth on Unsplash

Also available in: Français (French)